Conversations with a past I am not part of

http://www.filefreak.com/pfiles/86129/bdavis1.mp3

http://www.filefreak.com/pfiles/86129/bdavis2.mp3

(This will prompt you to download the clips, which I divided for the sake of easing your pain. They do take a bit to download, so be patient.)

Thought I’d share some excerpts from a conversation I had with a woman recently who experienced the civil rights movement in the 1950s and 60s firsthand. I encourage you to click on these links and listen – sorry if they’re difficult (I’m working on getting a better way to share some of these interviews with people).

The black woman you hear, Beatrice Davis, spoke about the way things were back then and how far they’ve come – then proceeded to explain why President Barack Obama’s election as the first black leader of the free world means so much to so many.

Does she support Obama just because he’s black? Absolutely. After spending almost an hour with her, I can see why. What a day Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2009, truly was.

We’ve come a long way, but there’s still a lot more to be done, as she explains.

Check it out.

Also, if you do listen to this, you’ll hear mention of “The Wilmington 10.” I’d never heard of this, so I checked it out. Pretty interesting stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

