Writing a wrong

This week I covered I saw a school teacher get charged with having sexual relations with students, hear of another incident of this nature happening with a school principal and the shooting of a 15-year-old boy, who remained in critical condition as of Friday evening.

Then there were the things I didn’t get to: the press releases on drug busts that went down, the police chief who supposedly got arrested for stealing someone’s personal property, the follow on what’s going to happen with the mother of the 15-year-old who got shot for allowing him on the streets of East Kinston at 1:30 a.m.

Finally, the question these stories lead to in my head: are we really doing anything to stop any of this from happening?

Schools need to teach an escape plan to girls who find themselves in a position where a teacher or administrator is trying to violate them – a similar plan also needs to be taught to teachers who feel the same pressure from students (yes, students do go after teachers). Parents need to be taught lessons when they don’t parent their kids and allow them to be shot at 1:30 a.m. on a school night. I don’t know what those lessons could be, or if the liberals in this country would ever allow such lessons to be taught, but we need them.

I don’t pride myself on being the world’s perfect parent, but I do know one thing: rain or shine, no matter what is happening in my personal life, my child comes before everything else. If I don’t have time to keep track of her, I do what it takes to loosen my schedule. This is how parents in general should operate.

Maybe, in the cases of single mothers who blatantly have no business reproducing any more children, D.S.S. needs to crack down a little harder when they continue popping out youngsters. Don’t go Hitler-style and tie their tubes, but take their kids once it’s clear they’ve got more than they can handle.

HEAR THIS: There are too many wholesome families who would love to adopt these unplanned children to allow nonsense to happen.

I am really exhausted tonight. It’s been a long week. It’s one thing to work hard, but it’s another to work hard to find stories you yourself really don’t want to hear. But it’s not a rosy world out there, is it? These things are happening, whether people are writing about them or not.

At least by me writing about them, maybe someone who can do something to help it will read the story, step in, and right a horrific wrong.

Or, I keep telling myself that, anyway.

Whatever gets me through the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

