Damn Baptists

I got an e-mail this evening from a person asking why our paper didn’t run the “whole story” on why a principal of a private Christian school resigned.

Apparently, and as the TV news reported it, this man sent an inappropriate text message to a student – then later sent a letter home to parents telling them about it.

To put it simply, I did not accomplish what I set out to do with this one. I assure you, there’s more to this story than what the media is saying. I did not receive a copy of this letter – the TV news did after our paper ran an article on him resigning. Had I gotten one, without a doubt, the “whole story” would have reigned proudly from the hallowed columns of The Free Press.

Can’t do it all.

The sad thing is, I would have loved to blow this man in. I especially enjoy letting the world know about any teacher/administrator who the police apparently have enough evidence to launch an investigation into whether or not he or she had inappropriate relations with a student, but when it comes to a teacher/administrator of a private school … one that’s of a Baptist church, no less … man – I’d love to do the honors.

I am burning up about this one.

But in my defense, as a crime reporter, there’s only so much I can do. Calls were made to the district attorney’s office, two sheriff’s offices, the city police and the state bureau of investigation to see if an investigation had been launched, but none had.

That’s a whole other issue: isn’t it illegal to attempt to meet up with a minor? Isn’t there a show on Dateline NBC about this?

Who knows. It appears the man escaped legal trouble from whatever he admitted to doing; in other words, police say no crime has been committed. Therefore, it’s not really the crime reporter’s realm.

I blame Jesus for this – yes, I really do. The Baptists have been pulling this crap for decades, this “do as I say, not as I do crap.” Here’s another stellar example of it. And the guy’s going to get off.

It’s a pattern that’s starting to make me wonder about whose side God is really on …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

