If I should fall behind, wait for me

For starters, here are some Bruce Springsteen lyrics that’ll surely make you think of butterflies:

We said we’d walk together baby come what may
That come the twilight should we lose our way
If as we’re walkin a hand should slip free
I’ll wait for you
And should I fall behind
Wait for me

We swore we’d travel darlin’ side by side
We’d help each other stay in stride
But each lover’s steps fall so differently
But I’ll wait for you
And if I should fall behind
Wait for me

Now everyone dreams of a love lasting and true
But you and I know what this world can do
So let’s make our steps clear that the other may see
And I’ll wait for you
If I should fall behind
Wait for me

Now there’s a beautiful river in the valley ahead
There ‘neath the oak’s bough soon we will be wed
Should we lose each other in the shadow of the evening trees
I’ll wait for you
And should I fall behind
Wait for me
Darlin’ I’ll wait for you
Should I fall behind
Wait for me

On to the not-as good stuff. Tomorrow, I will attend a Jones County Commissioners’ meeting in Trenton, N.C. I have no intention of writing a story about any of the meeting’s agenda items, but I am compelled to go just because I know it pisses the government scoundrels off to see my face.

In a way, I feel like a cop who’s forced them to be careful they don’t do anything stupid. This is something I thoroughly enjoy. Without the possibility of everyone hearing what they’re up to, well, there’s not much of a limit on the crap they could pull.

Not that they do – I’m just saying.

Did a ride along with a trooper over the weekend. I’m back to my original theory on the State Highway Patrol that these guys’ sole purpose is to write traffic tickets. The trooper I was with told me so.

Back in the category of wasted state money the Highway Patrol goes, right along with the Alcohol Law Enforcement. North Carolina never ceases to amaze me the way it throws its cash around on dumb stuff, but neglects more important issues, such as boosting prison capacities.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not saying people should be permitted to drive like NASCAR idiots on the highway. But I’m pretty sure county lawmen can handle the arduous task of keeping them in check.

I agreed tonight to allow my parents to take Kalista back home to New York for a week this summer. It’s been on my mind since. On one hand, I’m glad she has the opportunity to visit a place that hasn’t traded in its trees for strip malls and chain restaurants, but on the other, I hate the thought of being without her. When your life revolves around someone, you feel lost once that center goes away. The house gets quiet and stays too clean … it’s not something I enjoy.

But the only reasons I can come up with for not allowing them to take her are for my own benefit – so, I guess she’s going. I’m still not looking forward to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

