I have now lived in four places since leaving home. I realized this today as I hung out downtown (well, it’s officially know as “Uptown” here by someone who, for some reason, has the authority to call it this – that‘s another story) to write about some gathering there. Kind of strange for a guy who never had any problem with where he’s from.

I really like this new place.

There are hills here. The roads are windy. If there’s a true threat of condo-building Floridians exterminating the countryside, I haven’t seen it. And the people are truly wonderful – every one of them, with the exception of this county director who seems to be the definition of a smooth-talking, combed-hair lawyer from the South, have been some of the kindest I’ve met in my life. The entire community is like this.

Did I mention there are hills here? Driving is fun. Cycling 20 miles into the neighboring county makes me breathe heavy and have to stand on my bike – actually climb something. Even commuting in a car gives the impression of a tour. Everything’s lined by nothing, which is exactly what I like. Having some of everybody’s “everything” is a repetitious bore to me.

I do miss the cotton in eastern North Carolina. The peanuts, too, were cool. Agriculture doesn’t seem to be as big a thing here as it was there. But it’s a small price to pay when you’ve at least got hills. And I’ll definitely miss the Kinston Indians’ minor league baseball team.

But Hell – missing things is what I’m used to. I miss a zillion things about western New York – far more than I’m glad to have gone from my life, which in all honesty, I can‘t think of at the moment.

So I begin to wonder if my wandering has become a way of life. I liked Wilmington less than a third-world country plus typhoid-carrying mosquitoes, New Bern more than Wilmington (and, yes, that third-world country), Kinston more than New Bern and now Greenwood, S.C., more than Kinston. None, however, have felt like a place I want to live the rest of my life.

But there are hills here, so maybe I’ll eventually change my mind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

