I didn’t get that done because …

Remember the blog before this? The one where I said my life can turn on a dime and it’s virtually impossible for me to stick to a schedule? Today was a beautiful, wonderful and welcomed example of that.

I didn’t start that freelance writing assignment I intended to start today because …

  •  7:45 a.m. Kalista and her cousin, Allyson, are awakened by the dog, Dade. I am up five minutes later.
  • 9 a.m. We are eating a breakfast of blueberry pancakes, grits and juice. While talking about our plans for the day, Kalista reminds me I promised to take the children to the library.
  • 10:30 a.m. The kitchen is clean from breakfast. In the process of making it that way, I come up with a scheme to honor my commitments to the girls and the folks I’m helping with their website: limit my yard work (which has to get done today) to one hour while the girls catch up on cartoons, then swing over to Grandma’s house to pick up Allyson’s brother, Logan, and head on down to the library. I will take my laptop and start the project there by 1 p.m.
  • 1 p.m. I am almost done with the lawn. As it turned out, the idea of skipping the trim and only doing my back yard was not okay with me. I did the trim … plus my front yard, my neighbor’s trim and mowed her entire yard. Then I had to blow/sweep the clippings. Oh, and somewhere in the process, I hung a load of clothes on the line.
  • 2 p.m. I am hydrated again (it was like 95 degrees outside the entire time I mowed) and showered. The girls are getting antsy. They’ve been lounging in front of the TV all day. Perhaps we’ll take the bikes to the library to get their blood flowing again.
  • 2:30 p.m. Looks like we’re taking the car to the library. Since it’s 95 outside, I opted to pull the trailer with my mountain bike so we could take a cooler of drinks and pick up some milk on the way home. Trouble was, the trailer hadn’t been used in more than a year (Kalista’s too big for it) and a tire popped after we got it loaded and hooked to the bike.
  • 3:30 p.m. We’ve finally made it to the library. It took us a while to finish chatting with Grandma and get Logan out of the house. Also, it doesn’t look like I’m going to be able to start my project. Allyson needs me to help her find a book and Logan and Kalista want nothing to do with books whatsoever. I decide focusing on getting Logan to read – after I help Allyson find the perfect YA book – is more important anyway. It was a blast. He initially resisted (his sister warned me), but by asking him to tell what he thinks the story is based on the pictures, I help him to see the value in reading the text so he knows. Amazingly, this plan works.
  • 5:30 p.m. Grandma texts me regarding dinner. She wants to go out as a group because Allyson and Logan are leaving in acouple of days and, with our work schedules, it might be our last opportunity. How can I decline something like that? Besides, the family’s been separated all week due to Mom and Dad’s recent voyage to Hilton Head with the children.
  • 8 p.m. We’re done eating. Allyson and Kalista are riding with me, while the rest of the crew’s in Dad’s truck. The girls decide our next step should be to get some ice cream without everyone else. I agree.
  • 9 p.m.We arrive at Grandma’s house, where the girls will be staying for the night. It takes 30 minutes for me to say goodbye because of the awesome day we had … plus I accidentally shut Kalista’s head in the car window, which triggered 20 seconds of quivering panic on my part followed by 8 minutes of hysteria on Kalista’s.
  • 9:30 p.m. I have to water the front lawn. If I don’t, the water table I’ve been working so hard to maintain out there will be decimated by another day of 100-degree heat and relentless sunshine.
  • 9:45 p.m. Do I really have to start this project today? I’ve got two weeks. I’ll just blog about this incredibly productive day instead.

It’s not that I am flaky or unreliable or even irresponsible.

It’s not that I do not respect the importance of itineraries and plans and schedules.

It isn’t even that I’m immature or unprofessional or inconsistent.

It’s that I’ve lived long enough and experienced enough and loved enough and lost enough to know the opportunity to have days like today are far and few between. If you seize the moment, you’ll spark memories to last the duration of someone’s lifetime. If you fail to see the chance or pretend it’s not slapping you in the face, you’ll have “just another” day.

That’s how one is intended to live.

That is what this life is about.

That is why God gives us days at all.

 

Today was an excellent day.

This entry was posted in philosophies and rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

