Seven

I wish I could write about

How it feels to watch

My daughter turn 7.

 

I would describe the thud that

Comes with it to recall when

She’s 11.

 

Maybe I could add a part about

The lump in my throat that

Comes with thoughts

 

Of days gone too soon and afternoons

At the park and the kites

That I bought.

 

Or I might include a thing or two

On footprints in the sand

At the beach

 

That washed away years ago but seem

As though they’re still

Within my reach.

 

Possibly someday I’ll write a

Poem about joy that’s not

In my world,

 

As I watch my little baby

Transform from a child

Into a girl.

 

She’ll no doubt be thrilled at her party, my

Daughter who turns 7

Today.

 

She’ll love her cake, presents, boat ride,

Candles and everything we

Have to say.

 

For we’ll act delighted (I will, too)

To welcome the next year

Of her life.

 

Even I shall try not to appear

The entire event seems

A strife.

 

But behind my smile and laughter

Will be a man who’s not

In Heaven.

 

Yes, I sure do wish I could write

About watching my daughter

Turn 7.

 

This entry was posted in Kalista, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven

  1. Syd says:

    Wonderful Justin!!!!

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

