Is there more?

Churches in town often ask the question, “Is there more to life than this.”

Or some variety of it.

That is stupid.

Let’s get one thing straight: if you’re asking something like that, you don’t need a reverend – you need to see a psychologist or a psychiatrist or a medical doctor in general.

But if you’d just like to hear what someone’s take on the subject – preferably someone with a bunch of free time in the study of a giant, plush facility that doesn’t pay taxes – by all means, go to church.

Because you already know the answer to this question.

Assuming it is “yes,” let’s examine exactly what it could be you’re missing.

Ready?

The sky. Yes, folks, the goddamned sky.

Have you looked at it lately? The supposed texture, cracks in the early evening clouds, the way it just goes on and on …

If not, that’s your problem. 

Whether it’s a sky at sunset, the breath of your sleeping child or the taste of lemonade on a hot summer afternoon, the “more” to your life is likely going unnoticed. That is because we – particularly Americans and their illustrious “go forth and prosper” mentality – are so distracted, arrogant and naive that God’s most precious gifts aren’t our priorities.

  • Do you think getting to live your career is God’s gift?
  • Do you think being able to save for retirement, college tuition or a big house is a gift from God?
  • Do you believe any gift from God would force us to miss milestones in the lives of our children, dates with our spouses or even a Tuesday dinner at home?

No, dummy. God did not create these situations – we created them.

So when we think about there being “more” to life, let us always remember it has been in front of us the entire time, whether we’ve noticed it or not.

If you disagree, it’s probably because you’re arrogant – and that’s okay. It’s another quality of Western societies, particularly ‘Merica: unspoiled arrogance. I also have it.

Recently a friend shared with me a cute little rhyme she said a “successful” businessman often repeated to himself. While that’s enough to make any man sound like a muttering maniac to me, it brought up a thought I didn’t throw her way: how do we measure success? We can’t do it; success is relative. What makes a person successful to me may not be so to another. If any man – regardless of his education level, income or career goals – is not home for dinner with his family regularly, for instance, he is not very successful … to me. But this friend of mine clearly believes “successful” businessmen are those who make a lot of money. Otherwise, why note he’s in business?

Let’s be honest. Assuming one does believe there is more to life than the mundane, what could it be?

  • (insert answer here)
  • (insert answer here)
  • (insert answer here)

Did anyone guess anything made by another man?

I sure didn’t.

Whether it’s travel, more time at home, fresh air at the beginning of spring or hearing our children say, “I love you,” nothing that’s keeping us from these things and turning pastors in to shrinks will ever make that list. Nothing we make will ever be what is “more” to life.

The reason we wonder if there’s “more” to life is we’ve spent too much time taking it for granted.  

If you want more out of life, open your eyes and taste it.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is there more?

  1. Danielle says:

    You missed the part where I said he was successful on a personal level, also. I put in parentheses “(business and personal)”. He was exceptionally philanthropic, spent a significant amount of time studying God’s word and teaching others, especially children, remained happily married through his lifetime in times of prosperity and dispair, and raised well-rounded children who did not inherit large fortunes (because he gave most of it away to churches, universities, sciences, etc.). Your assumption that I define success in a monetary sense, only, is entirely off-base. If you actually had knowledge of what I have struggled through with my family, both nuclear and extended, my marriage, my multiple businesses, my employees, my education, my faith, my efforts to simplify and prioritize, you would know how I define success – and it is not the way you’ve presented “my definition” to the world. I do not ask if there’s anything more. I put my faith in God to guide me every day, to help me make the right choices about every part of my life. Sometimes I fail… and then I start over, again, intending to do things better. And I am blessed with the little things, even the ability and time to cook and eat dinner with my family every single night.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

