Horrible days

Do you ever wonder how some individuals hold it together?

I sure do.

Work always seems to be a cancer to my home life.

My home life always seems to be a cancer to work.

My home itself, meanwhile, feels more like work than anything.

And if I have to tell my daughter one more time to close the shower curtain after she’s done showering, she’s just going to get sprayed with Lysol in the back yard every night instead of being allowed to use the shower.

I RECENTLY VIEWED “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day” at the theater with my daughter. While it wasn’t an experience that was terrible, horrible, no good or very bad (contrarily, “memorable” is a better word), it was one that made me think.

How many days do we lose because we get stuck on the bad stuff?

This movie is based on a popular children’s book. I’ve always found it interesting it’s a children’s book because the message suits the young adult literature audience and even regular and old adults better than it does young’ns. That message is to avoid getting hung up on unfavorable events because sometimes things are bad and there’s nothing you can do to change that. Furthermore, count your blessings.

Oh.

My.

God.

I cannot count the number of times I have to remind myself to fall back on that.

WHEN IS THE last time you’ve has a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day? I had one a few months back. I could not believe how bad it got, even long after I’d remarked to myself that for sure it couldn’t possibly get worse than it already had been. That time, my “oh well, it’s just a bad day” attitude was ineffective.

That time, I just wanted to go to bed … at noon.

The only thing that saved me was the unavoidable reality that the clock would keep ticking. Eventually, the day would come to an end, I knew. I caught my breath, relied on my support system (we all have one, be it family, friends or alcohol) and waited it out.

It reminded me of watching a hurricane go over my apartment in college. Terrible storm that it was, eventually, it came to pass. I went to bed, woke up the next day, assessed the damage and moved on.

THE ALTERNATIVE WOULD be the worst thing. The worst thing – the most terrible, no good, awful thing – would be prolonging that unfortunate series of events any longer than necessary. That’s really all a bad day is … a series of unfortunate events that occur within the span of one day. This series is boxed by this one day, but if you open the box the following day, you allow that series of misfortune to carry on.

Then it gets worse.

And worse.

And worse.

You see, terrible, horrible, no good days don’t just go away without some effort on our part. Amnesia doesn’t strike without some conjuring. Thank God, too, for we’d be doing a great disservice to our futures if we pretended bad experiences hadn’t occurred. We wouldn’t learn anything from them and we couldn’t grow. We couldn’t better ourselves. Take a home-schooled or ritzy or religious private-schooled child and compare him or her to one who attended some overcrowded public school in a high-crime area. Who’s going to be better prepared socially? Bad, threatening experiences aren’t pleasant, but they allow us to grow so much as persons.

May we all be blessed with a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day from time to time. May we learn from them and grow from them and miss them … and use them to appreciate the good days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Have something to say? Let's hear it!

